Archive for ebook

Review of Hank Schwaeble’s Angel of the Abyss

Posted in Reviews with tags , , , , , , , on October 31, 2016 by David North-Martino

angel-of-the-abyss

Hank Schwaeble’s Jake Hatcher is back in his third novel, The Angel of the Abyss. As always, and just like his short fiction, Schwaeble crafts a rollicking good tale that will keep you turning the pages.

The beginning of this tale has Hatcher facing a demon, although it’s more complicated than that, giving Hatcher time to exercise his sarcastic wit. Fans of Supernatural and Ash vs. the Evil Dead will definitely appreciate the humor.

The mood becomes more serious and dire in the second act. The middle of the book, unlike many writers who get bogged down at this point, is where Schwaeble really shines. He does a great job writing from the perspective of Amy, Jake’s true love, who is also a former cop. I actually enjoyed Amy’s scenes even more than Hatcher’s. The two of them fight like the proverbial married couple, of which, I’m sure, many readers will be able to relate.

Schweable also does a fine job of taking on the perspective of a young boy. We meet the boy while he’s in a precarious situation, and we know from the beginning that the boy will converge with Hatcher and Amy at some point in the story. I won’t spoil it for you, but I think you’ll be racing to the end to find out what happens.

Hatcher’s past is constantly catching up with him, complicating things, and fans of the series will get some closure on events that were set up in the previous volumes. New readers can start here; Hank does a great job of bringing you into Hatcher’s world. You won’t feel left out or confused.

The last third of the book builds up to a hellish crescendo leaving this reader wanting more. There are questions left unanswered, promising a fourth book in this popular series. The Angel of the Abyss has it all: likable characters, demons, black magic, possession, secret military installations, cults, and lots of action. If you want a story to get you in the mood for Halloween and beyond, pick up The Angel of the Abyss. You won’t be disappointed. Highly recommended.

Wolves of Vengeance

Posted in Kindle, Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on September 12, 2013 by David North-Martino

Image

WHO WILL DIE?

There are creatures in this world born of vengeance, tempered in blood, with a lust for killing, and an insatiable appetite for death. They have come through a rift that bridges the earth with the underworld. And now that they are here, they will kill anyone who tries to send them back.

A reformed drug addict and criminal, a high school bad girl all grown up, a detective with a troubled past, an occultist turned martial artist, and a female Special Forces soldier will band together and risk everything to stop them. On holy ground they will make their final stand, but before the night is over these unholy creatures will drag two of them to hell.

WOLVES OF VENGEANCE

My novel is out! Buy the Kindle edition of Wolves of Vengeance at Amazon for only $2.99!

http://www.amazon.com/Wolves-of-Vengeance-ebook/dp/B00F3GU182/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1379009709&sr=8-1&keywords=wolves+of+vengeance